top of page

About the Author — Yin Marsh

I was born in Kolkata in 1949 (we knew as Calcutta) and lived in India until the age of thirteen, and then emigrated to the United States. I am a U.S. Citizen and live with my husband in Berkeley, California. We have two adult children, a son and a daughter, who also live and work in California. After I married, I spent much of my early working years living overseas as a wife of a Foreign Service Officer, performing various volunteer work and other activities associated with the Foreign Service community. My husband retired from the State Department in 1983 and we settled in California.   

Work History

2005-2008 University of California, Berkeley, CA, East Asian Institute. Conducted a series of workshops for post-doctorate scholars from S. Korea, China and Japan on “Introduction to American Culture and Colloquial Conversational English.”

1998–2004 a freelance administrative assistant to different companies like Kaiser Permanente, TRW Financial Systems, Leapfrog Educational Toys.

1990-1998 An independent Distributor for cosmetic and water purifier products.

1983-1990 Real Estate Investments and Restoration.


1994 I received my CELTA (Certificate in teaching English as a Foreign Language to Adults) from Cambridge University, England

1971 graduated cum laude American University, Washington, D.C., B.A. in East Asian Studies with a Minor in Mandarin Chinese.

1967 graduated from high school in Bogotá, Colombia. 

Other Information

1997-2000 I attended art classes. My passion is art. I began painting in earnest starting in 2007 and continue to do so. My media is acrylic paints on canvas.

1976–1980 I lived in Liberia, West Africa with my husband and two young children. My husband was working for USAID in economic development.

1990-1994 I spent a good deal of time in Egypt with my husband when he worked under contract with the Egyptian National Population Council. I have also lived in Brazil and Colombia and speak some Spanish, Portuguese and Mandarin Chinese.   


2012 Published my first book “Doing Time With Nehru — Life in Darjeeling as a child before the India-China Border War of 1962; events that led up to it; and life with my family at an internment camp in Deoli, Rajasthan.”

bottom of page